Exciting Excitement!

Standard

Hello!

I think that this is in my ‘About me section’, but this seemed as good a starting point as any to introduce myself.  My name’s Selina, and I’m a student at the University of Sheffield, and I’ll be finishing my English and Theatre degree in July. It’s been a lovely 4 years, and the Steel City is an absolute joy.

Anyway,  a few months ago, I went to see one of my lecturers, my personal tutor, about a Masters I wanted to apply for, and I expressed my concern about the fact that despite having done lots of drama things at University – directing and acting, and co ordinating festivals, and taking things up to Edinburgh – I didn’t feel that I had yet creatively created the kind of work I want to create. So her very simple reply was to get up, get out there and do some stuff!

Being a student, it took me… a month? Two? To act on this good advice. But I finally put together a proposal and got myself down to Bank Street Arts, and after having a chat with John, the creative director there, I’ve been lucky enough to be able to embark on a residency. Hugely exciting. Absolutely terrifying.

I’ve decided to blog every step of the process, because for me, the residency is how I’m going to figure out how I work and what I make, when essentially I can do what I want.

That’s so scary!

So the purpose of this blog is to have a clear record of that learning process, to  enable people to give me feedback and to help me think through things.

 

So yes. This is the blog. HURRAY.

 

Leave a Reply

