A New Blog Post. But First, A Cup of Tea

Standard

That goes for both of us. Pop and put the kettle on, then I’ll get typing, and you can get reading.

Ready? Found your glasses? I haven’t, hang on…

Right. A Blog.

 

So you find me in good and excitable spirits this morning – The day after tomorrow, I will be settling into Bank Street Arts as a temporary and very literal home, and devoting three days to making my piece. At the moment, it’s preliminarily called ‘This is where I live’, (after a particularly lovely set of emails somebody sent me) but that is subject to change.

I’m really, really excited. Lately, my residency with Bank Street has been quite admin heavy – important. And important to learn that artists do a lot of that, and that that’s why they moan about it on twitter so much (teasing, teasing… but not really…), and that it’s really stressful and that you constantly feel like you’re not doing enough. And that’s NOW! Now when money isn’t even the big issue or the main event for me. So yes, it’s all good. But it will be lovely to be in a space, getting creative, and trying to apply some of the ideas I have, and to start really engaging with the piece. And it will be lovely to just BE at Bank Street, to learn it’s rhythms and routines as a building, and to really meet everyone that works there properly, and chat to them and get to know them.

I have also had lots of time, recently, to think about the kind of piece I want to make, and how I want my audience to feel.  I’m from a theatrical sort of… background is too big a word, it implies roots I don’t really have. But I’m very much a thesp. I did plays at school, and then plays at uni, and I love them, even if they’re not what I want to do. There’s a spectrum in live art, and I do think I sit pretty far along the theatre scale – but I’m happy with that, and I suppose that’s where I feel comfortable. I want to combine the theatre-yness with the fact that I’m a really good (oop. I’m  putting big claims out here) hostess, I like making people feel comfortable and relaxed, and feeding them and taking care of them. So the piece has to combine three things – that story telling, illusion creating, theatrical element; that fun time, silly, I am 21, eat these biscuits bit that comes from my personality; and finally the serious bit: the voices of other people, the exploration of depression. Now that my ideas about the piece fit better with me, I feel more confident with it. For a long time, in my head it was quite cold and almost… sterile as a piece. And that’s not right, not me. So I’m happier now.

So fundamentally, you come it, feel nice, get drunk, then it gets emtional and we all leave in tears. Yeh? yeh.

I’d better sort out the content then, hadn’t I?

There will be more blogs today, I think, about the practicality of living in an Arts Centre, about all the things I’m bringing with me, about my day with Invisible Flock and about performance nights all around the UK that I’ve been stalking on twitter.

And also, I make video blogs. Probably made about 10 now, so I’ll be transcribing those over the next few days, because in most of them, it’s 4am and I look terrible.

Much Love, Speak Soon xxx

Leave a Reply

