Everything’s Coming Up Milhouse!

Standard

Team.

TEAM!

I got Arts Council Funding!

Wah!

Ahhh!

Joy Unbound!

In May, at the end of my degree, I made and performed a show called Chewing the Fat. It was precious to me, my first ever autobiographical, solo, live art venture, about the fat body, and my experience of that. It meant the world to me, and I was blessed, because people liked it, lots more than I thought they would. So I performed it at a festival called Emerge. People liked it some more, and with a great deal of help – and I mean a SHEDLOAD – from Invisible Flock, Theatre in the Mill, Dick Bonham, Daniel Evans, and my good friends Jess Paetz and Becky Moules (“Get out of bed, Sel. Come on, Get out of bed and get on with it”) we got an arts council application together. 

Yesterday, I came in from Spill Festival, itchy form a Icing induced Rash (a story for another blog), ill from my first experience of Brunch (when will I learn, guys? I’m 22, I should know to drink less by now) and a general mix of exhausted, exhilarated and overwhelmed by the joyous experience that was Spill. And there, on my front table was a brown envelope from the Arts Council.

And inside, a green dot, filled with the word ‘Congratulations’.

We – because it will be we, I have big plans, and you’re going to have to get involved with this one guys – are going to make a show, a show about fat, a messy, joyous, funny, hopeful, adjective-ridden, Yorkshire-based, alcohol-fuelled (not true.) show about fat – how we talk about it, how we live with it and what it means.

IT’S GOING TO BE A DOOZY.

 

P.S. Spill was one of the best experiences of my life. More on that soon.

P.P.S. – OH MY GOD I’M SO HAPPY AND EXCITED

P.P.P.S. – This is the song that I had my 25 minute dance party to, when I found out I got me some funding :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ZAWBDBUIbE&list=UUTtZUkI_PkWfoUWaX3J4qtg&index=12&feature=plcp

So, you know. Next time you think of the Arts Council, of buy yourself a lottery ticket, think of me dancing around my kitchen to this, with my best mate screaming on speakerphone. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

